Definitions ...

A

A/B Test


Split Test ... Representative samples from the same list, used for package tests, or to test homogeneity of the list. Also known as a split run test.o to app settings and press "Manage Questions" button.




Above the Fold


The first screen a web visitor might see on a laptop, desktop, or tablet. It’s the top section of a website, visible without scrolling. It’s derived from the concept of a newspaper, to describe the information visible on the top half of the front page, above where the newspaper’s folded for distribution. (See also, “Below the Fold.”)




Acknowledgement Email


The first screen a web visitor might see on a laptop, desktop, or tablet. It’s the top section of a website, visible without scrolling. It’s derived from the concept of a newspaper, to describe the information visible on the top half of the front page, above where the newspaper’s folded for distribution. (See also, “Below the Fold.”)




Acquisition


A new name and address/email address for a mailing list, acquired via a response to a sales promotion.




Acquisition Cost


The amount it costs a company to generate a new customer. For example, if a business mails 2,000 pieces at a cost of $800 and gets a 1% return, that amounts to 20 new customers at an acquisition cost of $40 per customer. Some say that the lower the acquisition cost, the better for the business. But sometimes a higher acquisition cost gives you a better customer lifetime value.




Acquisition Program


A marketing action, like a direct-mail campaign, with the goal of generating responses from new prospects who have never before done business with a company.




Action Devices


Copy that appears throughout a promotion that urges the prospect to do something, such as click a link, call a toll-free number, or complete a form.




Actives


Prospects who have made purchases from a company within a specific time period, within the last year (for example) — considered active buyers.




Ad Completion


An Ad Completion event occurs when a video ad plays through to the end.




Ad Fraud


Ad Fraud is when a company knowingly serves ads that no one will actually see as a way to drive “views” and revenue. For example, a website can use bots to automatically refresh its pages in order to register a high number of page views and appear more attractive as an inventory source on ad exchanges.




Ad Network


A company that connects websites with advertising to sell, then aggregates that inventory for advertisers to buy, usually via programmatic exchanges.




Add to Cart Button


A call-to-action prompt for the visitor to place an item in the virtual shopping cart when ordering online.




Addressing


Delivery format options available when buying a mailing list. Typical addressing options include printed labels, magnetic tape, email, and file download from a website.




Advertising Medium


The format in which an ad reaches a prospect. For example, on a website or Google search results page, by email or direct mail, on television or radio, in trade journals or at trade events, and so on.




Advertorial


A paid advertisement designed to look like an article containing information. The name is combination of the words “advertisement” and “editorial.” The premise of the advertorial is that potential customers are more likely to read helpful information (as part of an article) than a blatant ad, therefore, they will learn more about your product or service. Advertorials can be extremely effective, however to be fair to customers, publications are requiring the words “Advertisement” or “Paid Advertisement” at the top or bottom of the advertorial artwork.




Advocate


In marketing, being an advocate most often means you stand up for your prospect and are committed to his well-being, even if it means going head-to-head with a powerful group or traditional theories that others are promoting.




ALT Tag


Text in the web page’s code that describes a particular graphic or photo on the page. This helps search engines “read” photos and other images, which in turn, affects search engine rankings.




4C


Four Color Process ... The use of cyan (blue), magenta, yellow, and black ink combined in such a way that produces full-color artwork and photographs for a promotion. Also known as CMYK (cyan, magenta, yellow, black).




Alternative Energy


The electrical power generated in ways that do not deplete natural resources. Examples of alternative energy are solar (or photovoltaic) systems, hydroelectric dams, wind turbines, and geothermal turbines.​




ANK


Addressee Not Known.




Appeal


To find or describe benefits that generate the most interest or capture the most attention in prospects.




AS


Also known as average sale, AS, or AUS, this is the total revenue earned by a promotion divided by the number of orders generated by that same promotion.




Assignment


Any copywriting project or job assigned by a client to a writer.




Attrition


A reduction in numbers, for example, when the response to a certain mailing or promotion results in a reduced number of interested customers over the course of time; also when previously subscribed customers opt-out of a mailing list.




AUS


Also known as average sale, AS, or AUS, this is the total revenue earned by a promotion divided by the number of orders generated by that same promotion.




Authenticity


This is what copywriters should establish when writing promotions about products or services so it doesn’t read as generic, boilerplate, or “same old, same old.” Also known as authentic voice — sounding actually like the person who is talking (through your writing).




Autoresponders


A series of follow-up emails sent to site visitors who have already provided their email addresses as a result of a purchase or signing up for a newsletter, membership, or free report. Oftentimes, the series will contain 3, 5, or 7 emails. They are pre-written to engage the visitor and set up to automatically go out in order within a specified time frame (for instance, one email per week).




Average Sale


Also known as average sale, AS, or AUS, this is the total revenue earned by a promotion divided by the number of orders generated by that same promotion.




Average Unit of Sale


Also known as average sale, AS, or AUS, this is the total revenue earned by a promotion divided by the number of orders generated by that same promotion.




Awareness


An idea introduced by copywriting legend Gene Schwartz that refers to the level of knowledge and understanding a prospect has for the benefits of a product or the product’s existence; also refers to the prospect’s understanding of how much he wants or needs the product.




Automatic Speech


Automatic speech is a linguistic term for verbal expressions that are fixed in form, often non-literal in meaning with attitudinal nuances, and closely related to communicative-pragmatic context.





B

B2B Marketing


B2B or (Business-to-Business) marketing is the use of a wide variety of marketing and advertising methods to sell products or services of one business to a different business for their use in the production of goods (photovoltaic cells sold to solar panel manufacturers), general business operations (such as office supplies), or for resale to wholesalers or independent dealerships (as in the case of construction equipment).. A promotion or advertising campaign that promotes the products and services of one business directly to another business (instead of targeting a consumer). B2B companies are suppliers (products, software, consulting) to other businesses.




B2B


Business-to-Business ... B2B marketing is the use of a wide variety of marketing and advertising methods to sell products or services of one business to a different business for their use in the production of goods (photovoltaic cells sold to solar panel manufacturers), general business operations (such as office supplies), or for resale to wholesalers or independent dealerships (as in the case of construction equipment).. A promotion or advertising campaign that promotes the products and services of one business directly to another business (instead of targeting a consumer). B2B companies are suppliers (products, software, consulting) to other businesses.




B2C


Business-to-Consumer ... Any promotion or advertising campaign that promotes products and services from a business directly to a consumer.




Back-End


Any sale that takes place after a prospect has made an initial purchase. It often involves upselling — converting a prospect to a buyer, or converting a buyer to a repeat buyer or purchaser of a higher-ticket item.




Back-End-Code


Any code that categorizes a product or service sold to a prospect after he has made an initial purchase from a company.




Bangtail


An envelope with an extra flap people can tear off to use as the order form or response form.




Banner Ad


A graphic rectangular or square image on a web page, promoting a product or service. It’s similar to a print “Space Ad.”




Base Rate


Starting price to order names and addresses from a mailing list. If the base rate for a mailing list is $100/M, then the cost to order 3,000 names would be $300.




BC


In direct mail, a barcode, or UPC (Uniform Council Code) is a graphic embedded on a mailing label or envelope, showing lines and numbers for a specific campaign code. The barcode is scanned by special machines designed to track pre-set data for each piece being mailed. The marketer can use that data to evaluate the success of a specific direct-mail campaign.




Behind the Firewall


Content on a website for members only — they need a login (usually a username and password) to access the content.




Beliefs


The thoughts and attitudes of a prospect that influence his buying decisions.




Below the Fold


Used to describe the area that is not visible on a web page without scrolling down … it is derived from the concept of a newspaper, to describe the information on the bottom half of the front page, below where the newspaper was folded for distribution. See “Above the Fold.”




Beneath the Fold


Used to describe the area that is not visible on a web page without scrolling down … it is derived from the concept of a newspaper, to describe the information on the bottom half of the front page, below where the newspaper was folded for distribution. See “Above the Fold.”




Benefits


Advantages that a product or service can offer to the buyer. These are deep, meaningful advantages a product or service brings to a prospect's life; the positive impact of a product or service on an individual or on a company.




Big Idea


Any single powerful, unique idea or theme on which a promotion is based. It sets the tone/direction of the entire promotion.




Bill Enclosure


Buckslip ... Statement Stuffer ... A promotional insert included with the mailing of a bill or invoice to a customer. Considered a cost-effective form of advertising, the concept is that the company is already paying to mail the invoice or statement; therefore, the promotional material "rides for free" inside the envelope.




Billboard


A loose term that designates the act of showcasing related benefits on the cover page of a promotion. Traditionally, a billboard is a large advertisement displayed on the side of a road.




Bind-In


A promotion bound within a catalog or magazine, such as a postcard subscription offer.




Bingo Card


Slang term for the reply card that gets included inside a publication; readers circle the appropriate response number from an advertisement or article and mail in the card in order to request a magazine or other information.




Biz-Op


A slang expression for "business opportunity," often utilized in markets where prospects are interested or motivated by the idea of making money via a new venture or starting a business.




Bleed


A graphic design element such as a line, text, or picture that extends beyond the normal margins of the page to the page's physical or trimmed edge. Bleeds can be an extremely powerful design tool but increase printing costs.




Blind Envelope


A way to disguise direct mail as regular correspondence with the intention of enticing prospects so they are more likely to open the envelope. Blind envelopes are typically sent without teaser copy, without a company name or logo, and most often include a first-class stamp.




Blog


A website featuring a repeatedly updated chronicle, journal, or collection of news and helpful tips. It often links to other web pages, and visitors can respond with their own comments. Its name is short for “web log.”




Blueline Proof


The blueline is the final proof a printer sends to the client before the start of the printing.




BMC


Bulk Mail Center ... A facility that offers direct-response mailers a highly-automated mail processing system for sending out mass mailings. This often results in a reduced postage paid rate for the mailing. ​​​​​​​




Body


Body Copy ... Body Text ... The main portion of the promotion. The middle part of written copy or text; the part that comes after the lead but before the close. It’s also the web page copy that follows the headline and intro text. It carries the reader through the entire justification process — all the way to the call-to-action.




Body Copy


The main portion of the promotion. The middle part of written copy or text; the part that comes after the lead but before the close. It’s also the web page copy that follows the headline and intro text. It carries the reader through the entire justification process — all the way to the call-to-action.




Body Text


The main portion of the promotion. The middle part of written copy or text; the part that comes after the lead but before the close. It’s also the web page copy that follows the headline and intro text. It carries the reader through the entire justification process — all the way to the call-to-action.




Bonding


Creating trust and rapport between a company and a prospect in order to enhance the relationship and increase the likelihood the prospect will become a customer.




Bonus


A free item offered to a potential buyer to make them use a service, buy a product, or sign up for a subscription. Premiums can be free e-books, reports, case studies, white papers, special access, bonus materials, or tangible gifts.




Bonus Report


Often given in conjunction with information products, special reports are compilations of valuable, free information that are written to solve a problem or in some way provide a benefit to the prospect.




Bookalog


A book-style format usually 6x9 in size or smaller, containing all the components of the direct-mail piece.




Bounce Back


An offer enclosed with the fulfillment of a mailing sent to fulfill a customer order. Catalog mailers do this often by including the latest issue of their catalog or other promotional materials inside the package delivering ordered products.




Bounce Rate


An online statistic indicating: A) In web traffic data, the percentage of website visitors who quickly leave a page rather than stay, make a purchase, or respond to a call-to-action. B) In email campaigns, the bounce rate refers to the percentage of emails that “bounced” back to the sender by spam filters and never made it to the intended recipients. Typical reasons are incorrect addresses or high-level spam filters that don’t allow certain types of messages or “from” addresses to come through.




Brand


The identity of a specific business or product; the whole of the feelings, thoughts, ideas, and experiences of an organization or company that represent them to a prospective customer.




Brand Lift


The increase in effectiveness measurements (e.g., message recall) between respondents who did not view the ad and those who did.




Branding


The art of establishing a company's brand that is easily recognizable by a prospect. Not to be confused with just the creation of a logo, branding includes a range of messages and communication materials. It also includes the name, sign or symbols, color combinations, taglines or slogans, and the company identity.




BRC – Business Reply Card


A postcard prepaid by, and pre-addressed to, the mailer. Mailers pay an annual fee for a business reply permit. Sometimes the mailer pays the postage, but not always. The prepaid intent is to make it easier for a prospect to fill out an order, subscribe to a list or mailing, or renew a subscription.




BRE – Business Reply Envelope


An envelope prepaid by, and pre-addressed to, the mailer. Mailers pay an annual fee for a business reply permit. Sometimes the mailer pays the postage, but not always.




Breakeven


The point when the sales of a product or service are equal to the total cost required to create, promote, and support it. All money after that breakeven point is considered gross profit.




Breakthrough


The point when the sales of a product or service are equal to the total cost required to create, promote, and support it. All money after that breakeven point is considered gross profit.




Brochure


A booklet that promotes a product or service. It is not uncommon for company or product brochures to be multiple pages stapled together and printed on glossy paper stock.




Browser


Various online programs, such as Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Safari, and Internet Explorer, used as a “window” to view and find websites.




Budget


The amount of money an advertiser allocates to an advertising campaign.




Bulk Mail


Mail sent third-class for a lower cost. This is usually the approach marketers take to mailing several thousand pieces of mail at a time.




Bump


At the point of sale, this is the attempt by a business to upsell a prospect on a bigger product, or to add another product to their purchase. (“Would you like fries with that?”) Basically, the business (or salesperson) is trying to ‘bump up’ the total dollar amount of the sale, increasing profit.




Burst


A graphic image (such as a starburst) used to draw attention to a special offer or opportunity. Used to generate excitement and catch the reader’s eye, a burst may be placed next to a photo of a premium (“Free with purchase!”) or a “regular price” (“Special Offer $19.95”).




Business-to-Business


B2B ... A promotion or advertising campaign that promotes the products and services of one business directly to another business (instead of targeting a consumer). B2B companies are suppliers (products, software, consulting) to other businesses.




Business-to-Consumer


B2C ... Any promotion or advertising campaign that promotes products and services from a business directly to a consumer.




Buyer


Any company or individual prospect who orders and pays for a product or service.




Buying Behavior


Patterns of action by prospects, such as purchasing habits. Companies follow prospect buying patterns or habits to determine what other products or services might appeal to them, and increase the chances of the prospect buying more.





C

C-Fold


Folding a page into three sections in the shape of a C so the two ends overlap




Cacophony


The harshness in the sound of words or phrases or an incongruous or chaotic mixture.




Call-Out


A short section of copy designed to stand apart from the main body copy so as to draw attention to a specific point or quote. Often used to highlight a sale, free shipping, or some other important feature. If the call-out is a quote, it’s sometimes referred to as a “pull quote.”




Call-to-Action


The point in which a promotion pushes (encourages) a prospect to act on an offer (e.g., make a call, place an order, sign up for mailing, click a link). Also referred to as CTA.




Card Deck


A mailing that consists of a collection of postcards, each promoting a different offer for a unique product or service.




Carrier


The outer envelope of a direct-mail package.




Case Studies


Case studies help B2B buyers MAKE DECISIONS. When it comes time to make the purchase, 9 times out of 10, a B2B buyer will turn to what his colleagues had to say about your product or service. Success stories. Happy buyers telling their own stories make case studies the 2nd best content piece for lead-gen.​ A Case Study is a short piece or document that describes how a company or organization solved a challenge with a product or service — and what the results of solving that challenge were. Unlike a “White Paper,” which is a longer document that defines a business or technical problem and presents a new or better solution to solve that problem, a case study is basically a short “before-and-after” success story. It often describes a subject’s problem or struggle, and then the benefit or result of using the company’s product or service.




Case Study


Success Story ... A Case Study is a short piece or document that describes how a company or organization solved a challenge with a product or service — and what the results of solving that challenge were. Unlike a “White Paper,” which is a longer document that defines a business or technical problem and presents a new or better solution to solve that problem, a case study is basically a short “before-and-after” success story. It often describes a subject’s problem or struggle, and then the benefit or result of using the company’s product or service.




Categorical Imperative


The tendency of the brain to compartmentalize information while shifting focus to another topic. This concept underscores the importance of avoiding a straight-arrow approach to a sales promotion. In other words, if a reader can logically guess where a sales message is going, he or she will stop reading and you'll lose the sale.




Caategory Page


Typically a second-level web page. Category pages present information on distinct areas of information within a website. For example, "Our Services" can be considered a category page. As can "Running Shoes" on a website selling shoes.




Cause Marketing


A partnership between a nonprofit and a for-profit for mutual benefit. For instance, a company may promote that a percentage of their sales proceeds go toward helping a cause.




Cell


Cells ... When testing part of a promotion such as the headline, different versions of the test are mailed to a set number of prospects. Each group of prospects is referred to as a cell. One cell is normally the “Control” mailing and all other cells are tested against it.




Certification Seal


A third-party service “stamp of approval,” such as HackerSafe, TRUSTe, or BBB (Better Business Bureau) — which signifies that the company is trustworthy.




Charter Offer


This is when a company offers a new product or service to a prospect for the first time. The product or service may not be brand-new, but it's the first time the prospect has had the opportunity to purchase it. The inaugural launch of a newsletter or magazine, product, club, even real estate opportunity can be referred to as a charter offer. This expression is often used to create a feeling of exclusivity and "get it first" advantages for the prospect.




Cheshire Label


A machine-affixable label that is ungummed (as opposed to self-adhesive labels which already have a sticky surface on one side). Cheshire labels are prepared on a word processor or computer, and the Cheshire label machine must cut and paste the label to affix for mailing. More commonly used in the past at mailing services for magazines, Cheshire labels are being replaced by “Inkjet.”




Circle of Success


The Circle of Success is a lifelong continuing education program, sponsored by American Writers & Artists, Inc., for professional copywriters taught by the industry’s top copywriting leaders. Among those leaders are Bob Bly, Steve Slaunwhite, Clayton Makepeace, and Mark Ford.




Claim


A type of benefit promised by a company, usually backed up by some form of proof in order to make it seem valid and believable.




Client


In the freelance copywriting world, the client is a marketer who hires you for copywriting projects. One of the biggest questions a copywriter may have is, “How do I find clients?”




Click-Through Rate


A tool to measure the effectiveness of an online ad campaign. It's calculated by dividing the number of times an ad was displayed by the number of times the ad was actually clicked on. This term is also used with email marketing to track the number of email recipients who click through to a web page, video page or other link.




Close


False Close ... This is a system used for developing and displaying website content. WordPress is a popular and easy-to-use CMS, but there are many others, such as Drupal and JOOMLA. Companies with hundreds or thousands of web pages or complex sales functions may also develop their own proprietary CMS.




Construction Industry


That sector of the national economy that is engaged in the preparation of land and the construction, alteration, and repair of buildings, structures, and other real property. ​​ Additionally, the construction industry is made up of tens of thousands of manufacturers, milling companies, fabricators, suppliers, distributors and wholesalers, all producing products for consumption by the construction industry. Combining actual construction services (actual building, renting heavy equipment, portable toilets, office supplies, etc.), with the manufacture of building products (equipment, lumber, toilets, hardware, concrete, etc.), and the mining, logging, processing, milling, and smelting of raw materials into useable supplies, the construction industry is one of the Big 3 industries in the United States (the other two being the financial sector and technology).




Content is King


Bill Gates once said, "Content is where I expect much of the real money will be made on the Internet, just as it was in broadcasting...For the Internet to thrive, content providers must be paid for their work."​




Content Marketing


A type of marketing that involves the creation and sharing of online copywriting “content” through newsletters, blogs, print articles, white papers, case studies, e-mails and social media posts. Content marketing does not explicitly promote a brand, but its purpose is to stimulate further interest in a product or service so that the reader will seek additional information.




Co-Op Mailing


A promotion or mailing where two or more offers, usually coming from separate companies, are included on the same website or within the same envelope. In such a case, both companies share the promotion costs according to a predetermined agreement.




Coding


A method used by marketers to determine which list or test cell generated an order, usually made up of a series of letters and numbers on the response devices for the order.




Cold


It’s a way to specify a lack of bond between a company and prospect. When a prospect or prospect list has no prior relationship with you or has never purchased from your company, or has no knowledge or experience of any products or services you offer. It can also refer to a list of prospects who have not been contacted in a long time; usually long enough that the company relationship no longer exists. Cold prospects are much harder to sell.




Cold List


It’s a way to specify a lack of bond between a company and prospect. When a prospect or prospect list has no prior relationship with you or has never purchased from your company, or has no knowledge or experience of any products or services you offer. It can also refer to a list of prospects who have not been contacted in a long time; usually long enough that the company relationship no longer exists. Cold prospects are much harder to sell.




Cold Prospect


It’s a way to specify a lack of bond between a company and prospect. When a prospect or prospect list has no prior relationship with you or has never purchased from your company, or has no knowledge or experience of any products or services you offer. It can also refer to a list of prospects who have not been contacted in a long time; usually long enough that the company relationship no longer exists. Cold prospects are much harder to sell.




Collateral


Any printed material created to support sales by providing additional information, including pamphlets, brochures, inserts, or sales sheets… and even online: emails, landing pages, ads, advertorials, social media posts.




Commingling Mail


Commingling allows marketers to mix their mail with the mail from other organizations in order to maximize postage discounts offered by the USPS and potentially reduce delivery times. Multiple marketers, postage payment types, rates and mail piece weights are all strategically sorted together to get steep discounts on postage.




Comp


Mock-Up ... A visual mock-up of certain concepts for a promotion (including a website or printed materials), often presented as a work-in-progress of what the final artwork is going to look like. This makes it easier for the client to understand, visualize, and approve the design and its elements.




Comparison Site


A site that allows the consumer to look up a particular product, find out where they can buy it on the Web, read reviews, and compare prices. Three popular comparison sites are BizRate.com, Shopping.com, and Shopzilla.com.




Competition


Any product or company that offers either the same or similar benefits to something you offer.




Compiled List


Any list of names and addresses that can be compiled from a variety of different sources including newspapers, directories, public records, and retail sales slips, which identify groups of people with common traits.




Computer Service Bureau


A facility either internal or external to a company, which provides specific or general data processing services, such as “Merge/Purge.”




Concept


The Big Idea behind any campaign or major element in the advertising world.




Content


Informational web content designed to help readers discover a solution, understand it, learn about the author, read success stories, see how other companies solved their issues, and more. It may be in the form of articles, blog posts, case studies, white papers, video, slide shows, and more. Content is sometimes referred to as “help, not hype,” “explainer (as in explainer video),” or “infotainment” in distinguishing it from sales copy.




Content Marketing


A strategic method of attracting prospects and building customer relationships/loyalty (“fans”) by creating and delivering valuable information that also engages the audience. For instance, a how-to video is a form of content marketing if it provides helpful information but also includes a call-to-action to sign up for a free demo, download a report, link to a product page, or sign up for a free trial. Content marketing tactics include articles, blog posts, case studies (stories), white papers, video, slide shows, and social media posts.




Continuation


A mailing that’s an additional test to the same file (mailing list). You are continuing the test process to see if results hold beyond the initial test. The rollout would be as much as 10 times larger




Continuity Offer


An offer where a prospect gets billed on a monthly basis, often defined as a simple period of time (e.g., 12 months). When not defined by a time period, the offer keeps going indefinitely until the prospect cancels.




Continuity Program


Products or services bought as a series, instead of all at one time. Usually these products and services have a common theme and are shipped at regular intervals. Most companies begin with a starter item followed by similar products shipped at recurring time intervals. (For example, a book club or magazine subscription would be considered a continuity program.)




Control


Term for the best-performing promotion used by a company at a given time. It often serves as the standard or yardstick against which future promotions are measured. For example, a direct-mail campaign would have a control cell, and then other test cells are mailed against it to see which promotion generates the best results. If a new promotion produces better results, it becomes the new control.




Conversion Rate


The percentage of site visitors who take a specific action. This action can either be purchasing a product or service, downloading software, enrolling in a membership, or signing up for a newsletter. It’s calculated by dividing the number of site visitors by the number of times those visitors take an action. It’s also a metric used for email marketing. It’s the number of people on the email list who purchased a product from an email marketing campaign.




Co-Palletization


CoPal ... Co-palletized mail combines trays of mail of different items on the same pallet, thereby reducing mail costs due to larger quantity. Special postal regulations apply in order to get a co-palletization discount.




Copy


Sales Copy ... Copywriting ... Any persuasive text used by marketers to entice prospects to purchase, opt-in, or engage in some other action.




Copy Brief


Creative Brief ... The document that explains the goal of the promotion a copywriter is writing, usually outlining objectives, strategy, information on the target audience, and other points beneficial to the writing process that will aid the writer in crafting a persuasive message.




Copyright


The symbol ©, which means an individual or company owns the rights to certain material and can protect that material against illegal use from unauthorized agents. The purpose is to prevent illegal use of someone’s work.




Copywriter/Copywriting


Copywriting is the process of writing advertising promotional materials. A copywriter is the professional writer responsible for the text on brochures, billboards, websites, emails, advertisements, catalogs, and many other type of marketing tactics… more than 75 or even 100 different types. This text is known as “copy.” Copy is everywhere — it’s part of a $2.3 trillion industry worldwide. Unlike news or editorial writing, copywriting is all about getting the reader to take action. That action might be to make a purchase, sign up for something such as a newsletter, or engage with a product, service, or company in some other way. That’s why a copywriter is often referred to as “a salesman in print.”




Copywriter Layout


A mock layout of how the copywriter sees the various elements of the web page being arranged. The writer then passes this layout along to the client and/or website designer




Copywriter's Rough


A visual that gives the client an idea of what the copywriter envisions for the final layout of the promotion or web page. It communicates the expected length of text, basic graphic suggestions and placement, and other conceptualizations of the package such as inserts and layouts.




Copywriting Brief


The document that explains the goal of the promotion a copywriter is writing, usually outlining objectives, strategy, information on the target audience, and other points beneficial to the writing process that will aid the writer in crafting a persuasive message.




Copywriting


Copywriting is the process of writing advertising promotional materials. A copywriter is the professional writer responsible for the text on brochures, billboards, websites, emails, advertisements, catalogs, and many other type of marketing tactics… more than 75 or even 100 different types. This text is known as “copy.” Copy is everywhere — it’s part of a $2.3 trillion industry worldwide. Unlike news or editorial writing, copywriting is all about getting the reader to take action. That action might be to make a purchase, sign up for something such as a newsletter, or engage with a product, service, or company in some other way. That’s why a copywriter is often referred to as “a salesman in print.”




Core Desire


An emotion or need that a prospect feels or wants very deeply. Most often it is something that appeals to their wants, desires, or needs. Promotions must dig for the core desires to accurately connect with prospects, using emotional “tugs” in the copy.




Cornerstone Content


Pillar Pages ... Pillar Posts ... Pages within a website that contain evergreen, highly valuable content for a target audience, closely tied to one of the site’s major themes and linked to other highly relevant pages and posts. These cornerstone pages help the website rank well in search engines (Google, etc.) for high-level keywords, and also help provide the site with a structure that’s easier for visitors to navigate.




Cosmetic Violator


Any graphic element that intentionally violates the harmony of a promotion in order to draw attention to its message (e.g., “Free delivery!” or “Limited offer!”).




Courtesy Reply Envelope


An envelope that is bar coded and pre-addressed to be returned to the company that mailed it. It is different than a business reply envelope (BRE) because the customer must pay postage.




Cost Per Inquiry


This is the total cost of a promotion divided by the total number of leads the promotion generated.




Cost Per Thousand


The total cost of a promotion (including copy, design, list rental, printing and mailing costs, and postage charges) divided by the number of impressions was made in the thousands (e.g., A mailing to 400,000 prospects that costs $200,000 has a CPM of $500 per thousand).




Cover Wrap


A thick printed paper protective outer covering stitched to the outside of a magazine.




CPI


This is the total cost of a promotion divided by the total number of leads the promotion generated.




Cost Per Mille


Used to define the cost per 1,000 mailing list names purchased, sold, or mailed; M is the Roman numeral for 1,000.




CPM


Used to define the cost per 1,000 mailing list names purchased, sold, or mailed; M is the Roman numeral for 1,000.




CRE


An envelope that is bar coded and pre-addressed to be returned to the company that mailed it. It is different than a business reply envelope (BRE) because the customer must pay postage.




Creative Brief


The document that explains the goal of the promotion a copywriter is writing, usually outlining objectives, strategy, information on the target audience, and other points beneficial to the writing process that will aid the writer in crafting a persuasive message.




Credibility


Building or increasing the connection of trustworthiness between a prospect and a business. Statistics, track records, testimonials and endorsements, and supporting data are all used to increase the credibility, belief, and trust for the prospect.




CRM


Customer Relationship Management is term referring to the technologies, practices and strategies that companies use to manage interactions between the company and its customers throughout the buying cycle, or throughout the customer lifecycle. Used as an analytical tool as well, the CRM process has the overall goal of maintaining and improving business relationships with a company’s customer base. Sophisticated software system that helps businesses collect and communicate to prospects and customers, and analyze and manage their activity over time. The prospects and customers provide their email addresses through an offer or purchase, and then become part of the CRM. The business then uses these lists to send out specific email messages and track responses, retention, and customer activity/lifetime value.




CRM Process


Also known as “pipeline management.” Derived through consultation with the company’s most experienced and successful sales representatives. Each rep sums up the series of actions that led to a successfully closed sale. The overview of these individual summations is formulated into a series of steps for all salesmen to follow. This CRM process, then, leads to higher close rates and greater company profitability.




Crop Marks


Crop marks are printing lines that define the printable area on a page. They are placed at the corners of a page or image to define the limits of useable space for the designer. The printer also provides trim lines, denotes safe area, and bleed lines if the design goes to the edge of the page. Also called Registration Marks.




Cross-Sell


Cross Selling ... The practice of suggesting related products or services to a customer who is considering buying something, such as offering a dog leash to a person buying a dog collar. This approach often increases the amount of product sold overall.




Customer File


The list a company keeps of all established customers (and sometimes qualified prospects).




Customer Record


A computerized file that shows customer information, including name, address, phone, buying history, credit card, gender, etc.




Customer Service Email


An email sent in response to a customer's question about a product or service that he or she has purchased.




Customer Value Optimization


A strategy to increase customer lifetime value that involves: Attracting more new customers Increasing the size of each sale Getting customers to buy more often




CVO


A strategy to increase customer lifetime value that involves: Attracting more new customers Increasing the size of each sale Getting customers to buy more often





D

Data Card


A card used by most major direct-response mailers to store information about target prospects and customers, including demographics like gender, age, income, etc.




Database


A collection, usually accessed via computer, of customer records complete with vital information about each prospect or customer.




Database Marketing


Promotions sent to existing customers whose information is already available in the company database. Also known as mailing to the “house file.”




De-dupe


Merge-Purge ... The process of eliminating duplicates from a list used for a direct mail or email promotion. The main purpose of de-duping is to save money by avoiding unnecessary mailing expenses. Duplicate names or duplicate delivery addresses can be eliminated by a programmer or computer service provider.




Decoy


Seed ... A name inserted deliberately into a list to verify how the list is being used, or to get “Swipes” (samples of promotions).




Deliverable


A deliverable is something the copywriter is required to send to the client. Deliverables for a direct-response copywriting project might be three emails and two ads.




Demographic


Any characteristics that describe segments within the human population: age, income, sex, marital status, education, etc.




Desires


Anything your prospect wants that relates to your products or your service area of expertise. The more your copy can connect with the deeper desires of your prospect, the more likely they are to buy




Desktop Publishing


The process of using a computer and designated software to combine graphics and text in various types of documents, including e-books, newsletters, and brochures.




Die-cut


To cut irregular shapes in paper or paperboard using a die. Companies use die-cut printers to create the shapes, and then repeat them in several pieces to be printed or mailed. For instance, a mailer with a star-shaped die-cut requires special processing to repeat that shape in thousands of mailers.




Differentiate


A marketing term that refers to the act of making your product or service appear different from — and more desirable than — all others similar to it.




Digest


An advertising piece that’s smaller than a conventional size magazine but larger than a standard paperback book, approximately 5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, but can also be 5 3/8 x 8 3/8 inches and 5 1/2 x 7 1/2 inches. (For instance, Farmer’s Almanac and Reader’s Digest.)




Dimensional


Any mailing piece that has a visual presence other than being a flat envelope. (It may be known as “lumpy mail.”) It essentially entices the prospect to open out of curiosity to find out what’s inside. Often expensive to produce but usually a cost-effective way to reach out to sophisticated or hard-to-persuade audiences. Examples include a penny or a prayer flag.




Dimensionalize


The specific category of benefits where a vivid and compelling picture can be presented, enabling the prospect to picture in detail the use and key benefits of the product before he actually buys it. The goal is to make the product come alive to the prospect and spur his desires in order to increase the likelihood he will make the purchase.




Direct Mail


A marketing and promotional strategy that uses paper mail to acquire new customers and send back-end product promotions to those customers. Direct Mail can include self-mailers, postcards, envelopes, magalogs, etc.




Direct Mail Package


Any promotion sent out via direct mail. In other words, mailed through the postal service.




Direct Marketing Association


One of the major trade associations connected to the field of direct-response marketing. Its main focus is on large companies and the ways in which they target audiences.




Direct Marketing


Promotions created to target a specific audience selected after a careful study of buying patterns and demographic and psychographic traits.




Direct Response


Advertising methods that solicit an immediate action from the audience.




Direct Response Marketing


Promotions that enable marketers to solicit an immediate, measurable response from recipients. (As opposed to “image advertising” which is only to inform or remind the prospects about the company or a product, but does not encourage a specific response at a specific time via a specific channel.)




Display Ad


Any advertisement offering a product or service for sale that is displayed in a magazine, newspaper, or online, but not a classified ad. Display ads vary tremendously in size, color, graphics, and amount of copy. Display Advertising ... A form of online advertising where an advertiser‘s message is shown on a web page, generally set off in a box at the top or bottom or to one side of the content of the page.




DM


Direct mail is any promotional advertising that travels through the post, or is delivered to mail boxes by other distributors.




DMA


One of the major trade associations connected to the field of direct-response marketing. Its main focus is on large companies and the ways in which they target audiences.




DMM


Direct Mail Marketing ... Promotions created to target a specific audience selected after a careful study of buying patterns and demographic and psychographic traits.




DMA Pander


A database, compiled by the Direct Marketing Association, listing consumers who have requested not to be solicited by mail.




Dominant Resident Emotions


A term coined by the legendary Clayton Makepeace to describe the emotions of a prospect that dominate (i.e., the strongest emotions relevant to the product or service being sold), along with the emotions that are simply resident (i.e., long-standing, deep emotions in the prospect).




Donor List


A list of individuals who have donated money to one or more fundraising organizations.




Dots Per Inch


The number of dots that fit horizontally and vertically into a one-inch measure. Generally, the more dots per inch, the more detail is captured, and the sharper the resulting image.




Doubling Date


The date by which a marketer usually has received half of the total revenue a promotion will bring in. These dates are used to predict the final result of different lists and test cells in a mailing, allowing marketers to plan other promotions more quickly.




Download


In direct marketing, it's a document (PDF, Word document, etc.) people can download off a website. It's often a free report, case study, white paper, worksheet, price list, or other type of highly useful content.




Downsell


The act of making a lower-priced offer to prospects who said no to your initial offer.




DPI


The number of dots that fit horizontally and vertically into a one-inch measure. Generally, the more dots per inch, the more detail is captured, and the sharper the resulting image.




Drip Campaign


This email campaign is designed to slowly release content over time. For instance, Step 1, Step 2, Step 3.




Dummy Name


Seed Name ... A fake name used in mailing lists so marketers can track how the list is being used. Many marketers add a dummy name to their own files so they can observe the way in which list renters use the list.




Dupe Elimination


To merge one file with another and purge out the duplicates, so that no matter how many times a name and address is on a list, or how many lists contain that name and address, it will be mailed only once.





E

E-Newsletter


A daily, weekly, or monthly online newsletter sent by marketers to their subscriber list, which contains articles, editorial content, and sales promotions or messages. This is a popular and well-read approach to continuously communicating with customers.




Edge


A term used to describe any kind of competitive advantage one marketer or company has over another.




Email Newsletter


Eco-Friendly or Environmentally friendly or environment-friendly, (also referred to as eco-friendly, nature-friendly, and green) are sustainability and marketing terms referring to goods and services, laws, guidelines and policies that claim reduced, minimal, or no harm upon ecosystems or the environment.




Editor


Usually the person who writes and oversees a newspaper, magazine, or newsletter, though it may be someone who coordinates the writing and the assignments for any type of copy or publication.




Editorial


The copy featured in magazines, newspapers, or online news sites that is not promotional. Usually editorial pieces are articles, news briefs, fillers, or cover stories.




Elements


Separate, odd-sized bits of paper, such as “Lift Notes,” that are placed in an envelope with a sales promotion. Each paper serves as another way to persuade the prospect to buy. Different articles and sidebars of a marketing piece or magalog can be called “gates” or “gateways” into a promotion, meaning that some prospects will start by reading those instead of the beginning of the letter or promotion as it was designed. All gates are important because you never know which one will catch a prospect’s eye and bring him/her into a promotion.




Email List


A collection of targeted names and email addresses from people who have shown an interest in a company or service by “opting in” (signing up) for a free newsletter or a downloadable report. Email lists for specific types of targets can often be rented and used for customer acquisition. Anyone renting a list must follow all CAN-SPAM regulations: a US law that’s only binding on mailings within the US, though it may be voluntarily followed in other countries (e.g. Canada and England) as well.




Email Marketing


The process used by a company to communicate and promote products or services to targeted prospects via email.




Embolalia


Embolalia is a linguistic term for verbal expressions that are fixed in form, often non-literal in meaning with attitudinal nuances, and closely related to communicative-pragmatic context.




EMM


Enterprise Marketing Management (EMM) is a marketing concept whose main focus is generating and creating new leads, rather than just maintaining an existing client base. Typically, this type of marketing concept is utilized by “large-scale business,” or enterprise (meaning really big business).




Emotions


Emotional Appeal ... Emotional Benefit ... In copywriting, emotions are the key feeling you need to connect to in your prospect. They are the single-most effective conduit to getting a prospect to buy. People buy for emotional reasons, then rationalize the purchase with features and logic. Successful promotions go beyond fear and greed to deeper emotions. The approach copywriters use within promotions to connect with prospects on a deeper level, which may include speaking to feelings of fear, greed, pride, vanity, envy, or other, deeper emotions.




Endorsement


Positive commentary or words of praise from an expert in a field or a professional connected in some way to a product or service. Endorsements (often paid for) are used in copy to reinforce a prospect's decision to buy.




Enterprise Marketing


Enterprise Marketing Management (EMM) is a marketing concept whose main focus is generating and creating new leads, rather than just maintaining an existing client base. Typically, this type of marketing concept is utilized by “large-scale business,” or enterprise (meaning really big business).




Entrepreneur


Any business owner interested in new and profitable pursuits.




Envelope


A paper mailer holding a letter or other document(s). Comes in a variety of shapes and sizes depending on the intent and scope of the direct-marketing campaign. Specific examples are listed in this Glossary. Envelope: #6-3/4: 3 5/8” x 6 1/2” size envelope. Envelope: #9: 3 7/8” x 8 7/8” size envelope. Envelope: #10: The most common size of envelopes for direct-mail packages: 4 1/8” x 9 1/2”. Envelope 6x9: 6" x 9" size envelope.




Evergreen Issue


A topic that people are always concerned about or interested in (such as training a puppy), rather than short-term interest that goes out of date (such as a specific event).




Exchange


An agreement between mailers to trade an equal quantity of mailing list names. This may involve a direct swap, a list for space, or a list for something that is equal in value.




Exclusivity


The desire of a prospect to belong to an elite group, usually an appeal in copy that flatters the prospect and elevates him or her above the masses.




Expiration Date


The date upon which a promotional offer will no longer be available.




Expire


Term used to describe a subscriber or customer who no longer actively makes purchases.




Exposure


An agreement between a client and a copywriter where money is not exchanged for work but where the client agrees to give a testimonial or other form of public approval. (Not an ideal business arrangement for any copywriter.)




Eyebrow


In copy, this is a short, introductory headline that appears in smaller type and is featured above the main headline.





F

F Shape


The portion of the web page that most readers immediately scan upon arrival. User tests prove that readers start at the top of the page, reading left to right, and then work their way down diagonally. Therefore, the triangle is widest in the top left section of the page and decreases in width as the reader's eyes move down the left side of the page.




False Code


The point in a promotion where a prospect assumes the writer is about to ask for money, but where the writer instead takes an unexpected turn and covers a different topic, usually either introducing another benefit or telling a relevant story.




Fascination


A term legendary copywriter Gene Schwartz used to describe the way bulleted copy is used to intrigue the prospect so forcefully that he "Can't help but buy."




Feature


Any specific trait or attribute held by your product or service; this would include specifications, sizes, etc.




Feeling


Used to explain the way a prospect feels on an emotional level, not simply at a given moment.




File Maintenance


Also called List Maintenance. Changing, adding, or deleting data in a file to keep it up-to-date.




Finder File


A copy of the mail file containing a unique identifier number or code. By data-entering the unique identifier, the customer's name and address can be accessed. The code is printed on the order form and used to track the customer's order transactions.




First-Class Mail


A top classification of mail by the United States Post Office. This mail gets delivered to the prospects faster but costs more than bulk mail.




First Party Data


Data directly collected by a brand – typically through e-commerce sites and company websites – about the actions their users take while on that site.




Flat Benefit


This is what happens when a benefit is off-target and does not excite a prospect, resulting in little or no emotion.




FOE


The order to forward mail to a new address expired.




Follow-up Emails


Emails sent out to site visitors who have already provided their email addresses, as a result of a purchase or signing up for a newsletter, membership, demo, free report, etc.




Footer


General, "boilerplate" text that appears at the bottom of every page on a website. Ideally, it contains the company name, address, telephone number and customer service email address. It often includes a copyright and the web development company name, as well as an association membership seal, such as the Better Business Bureau, when applicable. Some footers also contain main navigation links for the site.




Form 3602


The Statement of Mailing that a lettershop must provide to the Post Office with delivery of a bulk mailing. This form identifies the mail class, sortation, postage rate, number of pieces to be mailed, and total amount of postage due. It serves as certification that mail has been received at the Post Office, verified by a stamp made on the form at the Post Office when the mail is dropped off.




Format


The shape, size, and general makeup of a printed promotion. Options include: letter, magalog, bookalog, jumbo envelope, postcard, brochure, etc. Since the format can strongly impact the results of the mailing, important consideration is given when it is being written and designed.




Formulaic


Formulaic language (previously known as automatic speech or embolalia) is a linguistic term for verbal expressions that are fixed in form, often non-literal in meaning with attitudinal nuances, and closely related to communicative-pragmatic context.




Forwarding Order Expire


The order to forward mail to a new address expired.




Four-Color Process


4C ... The use of cyan (blue), magenta, yellow, and black ink combined in such a way that produces full-color artwork and photographs for a promotion. Also known as CMYK (cyan, magenta, yellow, black).




Free Report


A free item offered to a potential buyer to make them use a service, buy a product, or sign up for a subscription. Premiums can be free e-books, reports, case studies, white papers, special access, bonus materials, or tangible gifts. Often given in conjunction with information products, special reports are compilations of valuable, free information that are written to solve a problem or in some way provide a benefit to the prospect.




Free Standing Insert


A stand-alone flyer inserted into newspapers and shoppers. Free standing inserts are not attached to the paper so they can fall out and capture attention.




Freelance Copywriter


A writer, artist, or photographer who is self-employed and not on staff with any company. They are independent contractors who provide services under a “work for hire” contract or “freelance” basis and the individual is paid per project. Today, freelance copywriters are in high demand as companies scramble for attention online and in print. Anyone who writes words (or 'copy') for commercial use on a contract basis. Freelance copywriters can work directly with clients, or through intermediaries such as advertising agencies or marketing firms.




Freelancer


A writer, artist, or photographer who is self-employed and not on staff with any company. They are independent contractors who provide services under a “work for hire” contract or “freelance” basis and the individual is paid per project. Today, freelance copywriters are in high demand as companies scramble for attention online and in print.




Front-End Promotion


Another term for customer acquisition. Activities performed to produce responses to a direct-marketing program and the measurement of those activities. Another term for customer acquisition. Front-end products tend to be lower priced with the goal of cultivating customers rather than generating profit. The opposite of “Back-End.”




FSI


An unattached promotion found in a newspaper or magazine.




Fulfillment


Process of supplying goods after an order has been received. Process of reacting to a customer's request, covering everything that has to happen from the time the customer places an order until they are completely satisfied.




Fuji Proof


Epson Proof ... A computer-generated digital proof from a Fuji or Epson printer, as compared to a press proof printed using ink




Functional Benefit


A benefit that’s presented in terms of what it will do for the prospect. It answers the “What’s in it for me?” question for the reader.




Funnel


Funnels are a special category of emails where you write a series focused on getting the prospect to take ONE specific action: usually a purchase. Quite often, prospects aren’t ready to make that purchase based on just one ad, article, or free report — but they do provide their email addresses. So now, the marketer needs to warm up prospects with an email series that leads to sales.





G

Gate


Separate, odd-sized bits of paper, such as “Lift Notes,” that are placed in an envelope with a sales promotion. Each paper serves as another way to persuade the prospect to buy. Different articles and sidebars of a marketing piece or magalog can be called “gates” or “gateways” into a promotion, meaning that some prospects will start by reading those instead of the beginning of the letter or promotion as it was designed. All gates are important because you never know which one will catch a prospect’s eye and bring him/her into a promotion.




Gatekeepers


In B2B marketing, these are the employees who screen mail before it reaches the key decision-makers. In order to land a sale, it's essential to get mail past these gatekeepers and to the high-level executives for whom it's intended.




Gauntlet


In print direct marketing promotions, a gauntlet is a review process using a series of qualifying steps a marketing idea must pass before it gets approval to run. In email promotions, a gauntlet may be a series of emails sent to prospects or customers.




Geographic


In terms of mailings, this is the way a mailing list may be divided along regional, state, or country lines. Divisions may also be based on county, city, metro area, or zip codes. Some marketers select to only mail to specific areas, or they may sort the mailing list by geographic parameters before splitting it to test various cells. (Therefore, making sure the test results are based on the promotion, and not differences based on geographic factors.)




Glicken


The additional benefits (other than money or profit) derived from providing your clients with persuasive, relevant, and valuable content through blogs, newsletters, and email; intangible benefits: loyalty, trust, respect, peer leadership.




Golden Thread


The manner in which a copywriter connects core desires to the sales pitch throughout a promotion. Usually, it's in the form of a promise or central theme that runs through the entire promotion and keeps the reader from losing interest by reminding him or her of the benefits offered by the product or service.




Golden Triangle


The portion of the web page that most readers immediately scan upon arrival. User tests prove that readers start at the top of the page, reading left to right, and then work their way down diagonally. Therefore, the triangle is widest in the top left section of the page and decreases in width as the reader's eyes move down the left side of the page.




Google AdWords


Since Google is the top search engine, companies place paid search ads on Google to attract prospects and customers. They use the Google AdWords system to set up and place ads.




Google Alerts


A free service offered by Google to get "alerts" when there's new content related to a specific topic or keyphrase. Companies can set up alerts to follow industry news or even their own business.




Google Analytics


A free service offered by Google that allows marketers to analyze detailed and valuable statistics about the activity of visitors to their websites.




Google Trends


A free service offered by Google that allows marketers to view and analyze which specific keywords or key phrases are actually being searched for by the public at any given time.




Graphic Link


Unlike a simple word link, a graphic link on a web page is a hyperlink configured as a graphic feature or an icon (such as a Buy Now button).




Greek


Literally, copy in the Greek language, used as a placeholder while putting together design mockups (for a direct-mail piece or a website) before the actual copy is ready.




Green Build


Green Build is the practice of building structures by using processes and materials (means and methods) that are environmentally responsible and resource-efficient throughout a building's life-cycle, from siting to design, construction, operation, maintenance, renovation and deconstruction.​




Green Building


is the practice of building structures by using processes and materials (means and methods) that are environmentally responsible and resource-efficient throughout a building's life-cycle, from siting to design, construction, operation, maintenance, renovation and deconstruction.




Green Materials


Those that are obtained through sustainably-managed harvesting or recycling, or materials which are manufactured with substantially less waste of material, energy, and water, as well as creating less pollution during the manufacturing process. The utilization of principles to severely reduce or completely eliminate hazardous substances in the design, manufacture and application of chemical products is key to manufacturing green materials.




Guarantee


Any promise made to refund a customer's money in the event he or she is unsatisfied with a purchase.





H

Hard Insert


Insert promotional material by hand into mailing pieces.




Hard Offer


Any offer where money is required upfront (as is the case for most offers). The opposite of a soft offer.




Header


General, “boilerplate” text and/or images and logos that appear at the top of every page on a website.




Headline


The very first line of any promotion; the initial copy read by a prospect meant to lure him or her into reading the promotion. Some say that headlines are 80% responsible for copy success. (If the headline doesn't compel the prospect to read further, you've lost the potential sale.)




Hero Shot


A striking photo or image of either the product or the benefit of a service. It's usually placed prominently on a website, landing page, direct-mail piece, etc., to show people what it is they're buying.




Homepage


The opening page of a website, which has the primary purpose of welcoming visitors, establishing that they're in the right place, differentiating the site/service from all others in the category, and providing highly useful information and links to other pages on the site.




Hook


Used to grab the attention of a prospect, making him or her want to keep reading, watching, or listening.




Hot List


A selection of a company's hottest customers or prospects; in other words, most likely to buy again and again.




Hotline


A segment of a mailing list that represents the most recent buyers of a product or service. This specific list is usually no older than three months at most. These buyers who have recently purchased are the most likely to buy again and often have a history of purchasing goods through direct marketing.




House File


Any mailing list or email list cultivated and owned by a company with records of all customers (active and inactive buyers) and qualified prospects who've inquired about the company's product or service. Versus renting a list from a list broker.




House File Marketing


Promotions sent to existing customers whose information is already available in the company database. Also known as mailing to the “house file.”




HTML


Hyper Text Markup Language




HTML Lite


A phrase for emails and e-newsletters that just lightly apply HTML elements and graphics, while 90% of the document remains in standard text form.




Human Nature


Common, predictable patterns of human behavior that can be assessed and targeted through a promotion.




Hyper Text Markup Language


A “behind-the-scenes” markup language for web pages. It’s the code used to structure the copy, present images, and create hypertext links between pages.




Hyperlink


A word, phrase, or image found in an HTML-formatted web page and coded to include a link. When clicked, it jumps to a new page or another section within the current page.





I

Image Buying


Marketing messages with the intent to build brand awareness or image for a company rather than elicit a response. There is no means included to track institutional or image advertising, and therefore, it is difficult to prove effectiveness.




Inactive Buyers


Individuals who have not placed an order or responded to an offer during a specified time period.




Inbound Link


A link from another web page which connects to one of your web pages. Google and other search engines use these links to determine the relevance and rankings of web pages, making them very valuable.




Inbound Marketing


A strategy and process of attracting prospects to products and services online through different approaches: paid search ads, social media marketing, SEO (Search Engine Optimization), YouTube videos, and other content-related “attention getters.” The content brings attention to a product or service so prospects are intrigued and want to learn more (or even make a purchase). A technique of creating prospects and customers out of total strangers to your business by using content marketing, social media marketing, video marketing, and search engine optimization (SEO). The object is to engage with the prospect or customer before they are ready to buy. Considered by many to be the best and most cost-effective marketing method.




Inbound Marketing Campaign


Refers to a concentrated marketing effort that aligns all marketing channels around a single message. An inbound marketing campaign typically starts with some sort of marketing offer—a product, discount, bonus, or premium, for example—something of value and relevant to your target market. This offer is promoted through some or all of a business’s marketing channels.




Inbound Telemarketing


The act of taking incoming calls from customers or prospects, for example on an 800 phone number as a result of a promotion.




Indicia


A substitute for a postage stamp or metered postage that appears as a preprinted marking on the upper right hand corner of a mail piece. It usually says "U.S. Postage Paid." The indicia indicate the permit number and mail class and is also normally preprinted on business reply envelopes.




Indirection


When a copywriter breaks up the logical order of the copy in a sales letter so the prospect can't make assumptions as to what will be said next. This forces the prospect to continually read the promotion.




Infomercial


A direct-response ad delivered through the television, typically running 30 minutes long and designed to look like a television program rather than an ad. An infomercial is a combination of in-depth information and a commercial for a specific product, and encourages purchase during a specific time frame.




Information Architect


The person who organizes all the information on a website and creates a navigation system to help visitors quickly obtain that information.




Information Marketing


The process of selling any information-based product that often comes in the form of an e-book, DVD, or special report.




Information Page


A page on a website that is focused solely on delivering useful, helpful information, as opposed to selling the product or service. Well-designed information pages also contain links or other “next step” actions that may lead readers to an opt-in, social media “Like” or “Share,” or a direct sale.




Inkjet


A type of printing that jets ink onto paper to produce text and graphics. Inkjet printing is a cheaper alternative to laser printing. Inkjet labeling is printed directly on to the envelope or mail piece (such as a postcard or magazine).




Inline


A graphic element (photo, chart, other image) that’s included on the same line as text — as part of the same paragraph, for example. It’s also a phrase to describe paper that’s still on the printing press.




Input File


The data file of initial information.




Inquirer


A prospect who requests more information about a product or service as a result of a promotion, usually through direct mail (online, this person is called an “opt-in”).




Inquiry


A prospect who requests more information about a product or service as a result of a promotion, usually through direct mail (online, this person is called an “opt-in”).




Insert


A separate promotional piece inserted into a package, envelope, magazine, catalog, or other medium sent to a customer.




Inserter


Machine that attaches labels, addresses envelopes, inserts printed pieces into any style envelope, as well as sticking postage on mail pieces.




Installment Buyer


A person who has ordered goods or services, but pays for them in periodic, pre-arranged installments.




Installment Offer


An offer where a prospect has the option to pay for a product or service in small increments on a schedule rather than paying the full cost all at once.




Institutional Advertising


Marketing messages with the intent to build brand awareness or image for a company rather than elicit a response. There is no means included to track institutional or image advertising, and therefore, it is difficult to prove effectiveness.




Integrated Marketing


Any combination of two or more forms of marketing used to sell a product or service. Some refer to this as a marketing mix.




Intent


In the digital marketing world, successful copy is written to meet the intent of a person searching online. For instance, if a person types, “tie a tie” into Google search, the perceived intent is to find a solution to the question, “How do I tie a necktie?”




Inter-List Duplicate


Duplication of name and address records between two or more lists.




Internet Service Provider


A company that provides its subscribers an entry point to the internet. Many cable TV companies are ISPs.




Intra-List Duplicate


Duplication of name and address records within one list.




Intro Text


The few short paragraphs on a web page that immediately follow the headline, generally appealing to the emotional side of the reader as an initial payoff to the headline's promise. Also known as the Lead.




ISP


Internet Service Provider. A company that provides its subscribers an entry point to the internet. Many cable TV companies are ISPs.





J

Johnson Box


Used originally in direct mail, it’s a “box” of copy that’s set apart at the top of an email or sales letter and contains short, key elements of the marketer’s message and the offer.




Joint Venture


A partnership between entrepreneurs or companies, giving both of them access to each other's products or services. It's usually for a limited duration or for a specific accomplishment/product.





K

Key Code


Any grouping of numbers, letters, colors, or other marks used to track and measure effectiveness for certain types of media, lists, direct-mail packages, ads, and catalog mailings. Key codes help differentiate both the offer and date sent, as well as the specific customer who is responding. Also called a Subcampaign Code. Claude Hopkins invented the concept of keyed advertising. The key code was made a part of the address. This is a common method; with responses to different ads being routed to different PO Boxes.




Key Message Copy Platform


Key Message Copy Platform is a 10- to 15-page document written about one product or one service. It includes (among other things): Slogans & taglines, Description of target market, Target market key information, The voice to be used in all marketing pieces for the product or service, The human value provided by the product or service, Description of how the product or service works, Complete list of market research facts and figures, The USP, The UVP, The Emotional Selling Proposition, The Product Positioning Statement, Testimonials, Product features and benefits list, Benefit-driven selling statements, Benefit statements to overcome objections, Calls-to-action. Typically, the KMCP includes copywriter-provided headlines, examples, and leads. As you can see, the KMCP is the vital component to a successful buying process in today's B2B marketing world! It delivers clear, consistent and compelling repetition of your message which builds your company's and your product's reputation.




Key Phrase


Keywords ... Words and phrases that people type into Google and other search engines when looking for answers or solutions to specific needs or interests. These words and phrases are also strategically placed into the copy of a web page to attract search engines that are matching searchers with relevant websites. This is known as Search Engine Optimization (SEO)… and copywriters with this skill are in high demand.




Keyword


Key Phrase ... Words and phrases that people type into Google and other search engines when looking for answers or solutions to specific needs or interests. These words and phrases are also strategically placed into the copy of a web page to attract search engines that are matching searchers with relevant websites. This is known as Search Engine Optimization (SEO)… and copywriters with this skill are in high demand.




Keyword Density


Used to be a measure of how often a keyword is used on a specific web page. It has become an outdated measurement.




Keyword Research Tools


Sites like Wordtracker.com and KeywordDiscovery.com gather information from certain search engines (usually Google), and then present a list of keywords and key phrases that are used by people searching online. The tools also provide data for each keyword, such as average monthly searches (or demand) and competition (number of sites that contain the same keyword or compete in paid search ads). Copywriters can use the keywords to come up with web page topics/content that’s relevant to the client’s business.




Kicker


A journalistic term that describes a line of copy used to create context or to “kick” up interest for an article. The equivalent to a summary in web writing.




KMCP


Key Message Copy Platform is a 10- to 15-page document written about one product or one service. It includes (among other things): Slogans & taglines, Description of target market, Target market key information, The voice to be used in all marketing pieces for the product or service, The human value provided by the product or service, Description of how the product or service works, Complete list of market research facts and figures, The USP, The UVP, The Emotional Selling Proposition, The Product Positioning Statement, Testimonials, Product features and benefits list, Benefit-driven selling statements, Benefit statements to overcome objections, Calls-to-action. Typically, the KMCP includes copywriter-provided headlines, examples, and leads. As you can see, the KMCP is the vital component to a successful buying process in today's B2B marketing world! It delivers clear, consistent and compelling repetition of your message which builds your company's and your product's reputation.





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